Brass 3 face Shiva and Parvati Mukhlingam


Size: 8" x 4"x4"
Weight: 3 kg

 Brass Shiva Mukhlingam is any arts lovers delight.

The artisan has painstakingly made possible to segregate each strand on Lord Shiva head with his expert craftsmanship.


The five-faced mukhalinga is called pancha-mukhalinga. The five faces relate Shiva to the classical elements, the directions, the five senses and five parts of the body. These represent Shiva's five aspects: Sadyojata, Vamadeva, Aghora, Tatpurusha and Ishana. A four-faced linga is said also to represent the five aspects of Shiva, the fifth aspect is center, the shaft itself or is assumed to be emerging from the top of the shaft and denotes the formless Absolute. Thus, a four-faced mukhalinga can be also called a pancha-mukhalinga ("linga with five faces" of Shiva)


These four-faced lingas are the most commonly found mukhalingas.

The 13th Century A.D. pancha mukha sivalinga is in Kalahasti, Andhra Pradesh.The fifth face would not be shown to highlight the Nishkala character of Sivalinga.

The top face is known as Ishana or Sadashiva, who is rarely depicted and governs zenith and the sky (Akasha). The east face is Sadyojata or Mahadeva, the regent of the earth (Prithvi). The west face is Tatpurusha or Nandi (Shiva's bull mount) or Nandivaktra (the face of Nandi), denoting the wind, Vayu. While Vamadeva or Uma (Parvati, Shiva's consort) or Umavaktra (the face of Parvati) or Tamreshvara (water, Ap) faces north, Aghora or Bhairava looks south (fire, Agni). In some texts, the east face is called Tatpurusha and the western one Sadyojata. The icon of the five aspects represents the entire universe.


The product might have slight irregularities in color, design and moulding as its thoroughly handcrafted by artisans.

Manufacturers and Retailers of Indian Handicrafts.
Wall Decor | Table Decor | Brass Idols | Wooden Artware and More

Recently viewed